Sunday, February 7, 2010

Featured New Artist of the Month: Matt Hires

Though Matt Hires is certainly not new to the music scene, he is still relatively unknown. After signing with Atlantic Records back in 2008, Hires has since appeared at SXSW Music Festival and released both an EP and a full-length album.

The first single from Hires' full-length album, "Take Us to the Start," is "Honey Let Me Sing You a Song." It's a great song with catchy lyrics that highlights Hires' unique vocal quality.

Hires' sound is pure pop/acoustic, similar to Mat Kearney. The first two tracks are upbeat and catchy, but then Hires slows things down with sensitive ballads like "You In the End," "O Sunrise," and "You Are the One." Hires shows his true artistry with the last track, "Tangled Web," which has powerful imagery laced into every line. Hires even throws in a little bit of country influence with "Listen to Me Now."

1. Honey, Let Me Sing You a Song
2. State Lines
3. A Perfect Day
4. Listen to Me Now
5. You In the End
6. Turn the Page
7. O Sunrise
8. Pick Me Up
9. You Are the One
10. Out of the Dark
11. Tangled Web

Hires is re-releasing his album this Tuesday with three new bonus tracks and the music video for "Honey, Let Me Sing You a Song." Be sure to pick up your copy on iTunes!

Matt Hires just recently kicked off his first headlining club tour featuring Jason Castro and Caitlin Crosby. Since it's a club tour, tickets are being sold by each individual venue, but you can check Matt Hires' Myspace for tour dates here. Tickets are only $8, so be sure to get them quick before they sell out!

No comments:

Post a Comment