Friday, April 23, 2010

Jason Castro (finally)

If you know me at all, you know how long I've been waiting for Jason Castro's debut album. It was originally set to release back in November 2009, but Jason and his team wanted the album to be perfect for the fans, so they decided to delay the release until January 2010. Well, then that didn't happen either. Instead of releasing a full-length album, Jason released a five-track EP to tide us over until the real release, April 13, 2010.

The full-length 14-track album is available on iTunes (digital copy) or Amazon (hard copy). You can also buy an 8-track version in stores (or the digital copy online as well).

This long awaited debut album features all five tracks found on Jason Castro's Love Uncompromised EP as well as two favorites from Jason's time on American Idol, "Hallelujah" and "Over the Rainbow."

My favorite new tracks are "That's What I'm Here For" and "Heart of Stone." Last month Jason Castro sang "That's What I'm Here For" (and "Over the Rainbow") at Bachelor star Jason Mesnick's wedding. He also performed it on Ellen this week, so I assume it's his next single. This track is Jason Castro at his best. While his first single, "Let's Just Fall In Love Again," is quirky and fun, this song is genuine, heartfelt songwriting. ("When you need a little less or you want a little more, when you need someone to find you when you're hiding from it all, that's what I'm here for.") I also really love the strings featured on this track.

"This Heart of Stone" is a happy medium between the two singles. It's upbeat and fun, but it tells the story of a girl breaking down the walls around his heart. "It was a sucker-punch that took me down. She took a sledgehammer and went to town...She took her best swing and broke into this heart of stone." I love this song because I think many people will relate to it (no matter which side of the story they happen to be on). Everyone is looking for that one person who they can trust and be vulnerable with, but sometimes it takes a sledgehammer to get to that vulnerable state.

1. Let's Just Fall In Love Again
2. This Heart of Mine
3. That's What I'm Here For
4. Heart of Stone
5. If I Were You
6. You Can Always Come Home
7. Love Uncompromised
8. Closer
9. All Wrapped Up
10. It Matters To Me
11. Hallelujah
12. Let's Just Fall In Love Again (Acoustic)
13. Sweet Medicine
14. Over the Rainbow

It's been a huge year for Jason Castro. He's been working hard on this album since he signed with Atlantic Records exactly one year ago (April 2009). He completed his first club tour, he got married, he saw his dream come true (finally), and he is now on his first headlining tour.

It's been an incredible journey watching this talented singer-songwriter grow from a shy kid playing at The Door in Dallas to an American Idol star and now a talented musician living his dream.

Be sure to buy Jason's album and catch him on tour if you can!

No comments:

Post a Comment